Always Local, Always Free

Twelve Manitobans to Receive Province’s Highest Honour

 Twelve Manitobans, whose contributions span a wide range of endeavours and accomplishments, are set to receive the Order of Manitoba, the province’s highest honour. The formal investiture ceremony is scheduled for Thursday, July 11, at the Legislative Building.

Established in 1999, the Order of Manitoba honours individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement, enriching the social, cultural, or economic well-being of the province and its residents.

“The accomplishments of the women and men who will receive the 2024 Order of Manitoba exemplify their commitment to the community at local, national, and international levels,” said Lt.-Gov. Anita R. Neville, chancellor of the order, who will preside over the ceremony. “The impact of their leadership has made a unique mark on this province and its people with achievements that both impress and inspire.”

Appointments to the order are made by the chancellor based on the recommendations of an advisory council. Members of the Order of Manitoba are entitled to use the initials OM after their names for life. The list of all members is on permanent display in the Legislative Building.

The following Manitobans will be invested at the 2024 ceremony:

  • Elder Mae Louise Campbell, a Métis/Saulteaux woman, has worked for 45 years with Indigenous women and two-spirit peoples, sharing her knowledge around traditional women’s healing practices.
  • The Honourable Murray Sinclair (Mizana Gheezik), CC, a former member of the Canadian Senate and a First Nations lawyer, chaired the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada from 2009 to 2015.
  • Myrna Driedger, a former registered nurse and advocate for missing and exploited children, was recognized with the 2023 Commonwealth Parliamentarian Lifetime Achievement Award. She was a member of the Manitoba legislative assembly for 25 years and a two-term Speaker.
  • Dr. Brent Roussin, Manitoba’s chief public health officer, has been the province’s top public health authority and spokesperson during daily COVID-19 pandemic news conferences. A specialist in public health and preventive medicine, Dr. Roussin also brought an understanding of administrative law that helped form the province’s COVID-19 response.
  • Dr. Marcia Anderson, a nationally renowned physician, served as the public health lead for Manitoba’s First Nations COVID-19 pandemic response team.
  • David Johnston, CM, a successful business executive, founded Johnston Group and the Johnston Family Foundation, supporting over 100 community organizations.
  • Ronald Paley, an internationally recognized musician, formed the Ron Paley Big Band in 1976 and received the BreakOut West Western Canadian Music Awards’ Heritage Award.
  • Robert (Bob) Williams, a supporter of arts, nature conservancy, and the armed forces, has donated millions of dollars and his time to various organizations. He serves as an honorary colonel with the Fort Garry Horse Regiment, promoting the welfare and support of veterans, serving soldiers and their families.
  • Chad Swayze, a professional firefighter and community fundraiser, was instrumental in Winnipeg successfully hosting the 2023 World Police and Fire Games.
  • Michel D. Lagacé, chair of the boards of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Arts Stabilization Manitoba, and Société historique de Saint-Boniface, has worked to advance the provincial arts, culture, and heritage sectors.
  • James Cohen, a Winnipeg-based executive and musician, has served as president of real estate company Gendis Inc. and chaired Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet, Manitoba Museum, and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra development committee. He and his wife Linda are well-known in the community for their philanthropic activities.
  • Connie Walker, a passionate community builder, has been a tireless champion of an inclusive and thriving city as president and CEO of United Way.

These individuals’ contributions have left an indelible mark on Manitoba, and their recognition is a testament to their unwavering dedication to the betterment of the province and its people.

© 2024

Share this post:

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore